Direct Vision Standard

As of October 2020, in order to enter Greater London in a vehicle weighing more than 12 tonnes, you need to obtain a permit.

In order to get this permit, and achieve the direct vision standard, you need to have at least a 1 Star rated truck. These stars are given out by manufacturers based on the equipment and safety items installed at the factory. If your vehicle is Zero Star rated, then you must comply with the Safe System Standard.

This requires the additional installation of cameras and monitoring equipment onto each and every truck. So far we have 3 vehicles outfitted with this new equipment. This allows us to monitor the truck in real time from 4 different cameras. As well as giving the driver additional safety features to protect against pedestrians as shown in the video below. This means we have set vehicles equipped with this direct vision standard and only use these vehicles for trips to London.

Direct Vision Standard

Zero Rated Vehicles

The majority of trucks older than 2016, and weighing more than 12t, will all be Zero rated. So what exact changes must be made to obtain the permit and achieve the Direct Vision Standard?

  1. Class V mirror fitted to the nearside of the vehicle.
  2. Class VI mirror fitted to the front of the vehicle.
  3. Side under-run protection fitted to both sides of the vehicle except where this is impractical or proves to be impossible. See TfL website for exemptions.
  4. External pictorial stickers and markings shall we displayed on vehicles to warn vulnerable road users of the hazards around the vehicle.
  5. A sensor system that alerts the driver to the presence of a vulnerable road user fitted to the nearside of the vehicle.
  6. Audible vehicle manoeuvring warning to warn vulnerable road users when a vehicle is turning left.
  7. A fully operational camera monitoring system fitted to the nearside of the vehicle.

Live Feed from SK16 Eastbound on the A1

Scroll to Top